APGA appoints Obi national leader



The All Progressives Grand Alliance  (APGA) has appointed Governor Peter Obi of Anambra State as its National Leader and Chairman Board of Trustees.The party’s National Executive Council (NEC) confirmed the appointment at its meeting in Awka following an earlier recommendation made by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party at a meeting in Abuja.
The council members unanimously approved the appointment of Obi as the National Leader and Chairman, Board of Trustees following a motion moved by the Oyo State Chairman of the Party, Mr. Samson Olaniyi and seconded by the Bayelsa State Chairman, Mr. John Sokari.

The council also approved the appointment of a 30-member Board of Trustees selected from the six geo-political zones including, a former Commissioner for Women Affairs in Imo State, Mrs. Ann Dozie, while appointment of Dr. Tim Menakaya was stood down following overwhelming objection from members of the council.

The NEC members also passed a vote of confidence on the leadership of the APGA and rejected the recent judgment of the Federal High Court in Abuja, as well as set up a committee to review the constitution of the party while the NWC was mandated to fill existing vacancies.

The National Chairman of the party, Chief Victor Umeh used the opportunity to present the Anambra State Governor-elect, Chief Willie Obiano and his Deputy, Dr. Nkem Okeke to the Council, while Governor Obi and some leaders of the party were presented with awards.

In his speech, Governor Obi said the struggle to reposition the party over the years was challenging but through sacrifice, doggedness and commitment the party continued to excel, commending those who stood firm and saw it through.

He noted that his appointment was a call to duty and time to work to further uplift the party, stressing the need for unity of purpose and putting the party interest above every other consideration. He assured that he would continue to work to reconcile differences and bring every member into the fold to achieve more results.

The Governor-elect, Chief Obiano in his goodwill message thanked the council for its support during the governorship election and described the outcome of the election as victory APGA would replicate in other states by working as a family to tackle future challenges. He called on others to join the APGA, to be part of the giant strides to elevate the state to a higher level.

The National Chairman, Chief Umeh attributed the political success of the APGA to Governor Peter Obi’s consistency, hard work and landmark achievements, which, he noted, had made the state a reference point in the country and explained that his appointment as the national leader was necessary to give him more responsibilities in the party.

Umeh said APGA had become a force to reckon with in the country and would not be disturbed by antics in any form, urging the judiciary not to allow itself to be used to destabilize democracy.

He assured that the party was on strong footing to win more elections and would continue to work relentlessly to penetrate fresh frontiers and restated total support of APGA to the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan.

Presenting an award of excellence to Governor Obi on behalf of the party, the Vice National Chairman of the party, South West Alhaji Tai Sowumi described him as the most performing governor in the country who, he noted, had raised the bar of leadership and redefined good governance in all facets. He said the award was in recognition of his outstanding performance in governance and contributions to growth and success of APGA.

The son of the late National Leader of APGA, Dim Odumegwu-Ojukwu, Mr. Emeka Ojukwu, said Governor Obi was a worthy successor to his father.

Also speaking, a member of the Board of Trustees, Chief Martin Agbaso said the party was building a formidable structure to reclaim Imo State in the next governorship election.

The meeting was attended by APGA State Chairman of the 36 states and Abuja, more than 70 members of the executive committee members of the National Assembly, State Assemblies and Local Government Chairmen among others.

Contact: editor@pacetv.ngShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Digg thisPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page