APC inaugurates 18-man committee for mini convention


The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Thursday in Abuja inaugurated an 18-man committee for its mini convention scheduled to take place in Abuja on October 29.

John oyegun, National Chairman of the APC who inaugurated the committee, urged members to work to achieve the mandate of ensuring a hitch-free convention.

The Chairman of the committee, Gov. Abdulaziz Abubakar of Zamfara, who responded on behalf of the committee, assured that the expectation of the party on the convention would be achieved.

‘‘The mandate given to me as far as the committee is concerned is to ensure that we have a successful convention.

‘‘This convention is to ratify some sections of our constitution.

‘‘As party men and women, we are ready to work round the clock to ensure that this convention is successful,” Abubakar said.

Timi Silva, a former Bayelsa Governor, will serve as the secretary of the committee.

The party’s National Vice Chairmen in the six geopolitical zones of the country are members of the committee.

Others are former Governor of Gombe State, Danjuma Goje; Sen. Robert Boroface, Aisha Ibrahim, Bala Borodo, Temi Harriman, Dr Anyim Nyerere and Lai Mohammed, the party’s National Publicity Secretary.

Sen. Osita Izunaso, APC’s National Publicity Secretary; Mai Buni, the National Secretary and Dikko Radda, the Welfare Secretary are also members.

About 2 000 delegates, three from each of the 774 local government areas of the country are expected to participate in the mini convention, which will be observed by Independent National Electoral Commission.

–   NAN

Contact: editor@pacetv.ngShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Digg thisPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page