Breaking News: Pinnick Emerges new NFF president


Amaju Pinnick has been elected the president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in a voting process in Warri on Tuesday.

Pinnick, who is the Delta State FA chairman and also chairman of the Delta State Sports Commission, had to win through a run-off process after he could not get the two-third of votes.

The 43-year-old got 32 of the 44 votes in the run-off after polling 25 in the first round of voting during the NFF elective general assembly.

Vice chairman of Lobi Stars and former Nigeria international, Dominic Iorfa, ended up in second place with eight votes in the run-off after he initially received six votes in the first round of voting.

Former NFF secretary-general Taiwo Ogunjobi, who finished a distant second with nine votes in the first round of voting, came in third position with four votes after the run-off.

Amanze Uchegbulam, a former NFF vice president, got four votes.

However, Mike Umeh and Abba Yola ended the polling process without anyvotes.

The seventh candidate, Shehu Dikko, was declared withdrawn from the NFF presidential election by the football federation’s electoral committee since he was absent.

“I am so excited winning the election and I will make sure I lift Nigerian football high when I assume office,” Pinnick told at the venue of the congress in Warri.

Contact: editor@pacetv.ngShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Digg thisPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page